fbpx
Celia M.
Celia M.
Los Angeles, CA
Feb 24 - Feb 28, 2024

We had an amazing trip to the Galapagos :)

Linda and team were amazing in planning our custom trip to Ecuador and the Galapagos! My husband and I had a fantastic time and (almost) everything was taken care of for our 5 day trip that included Santa Cruz and Isabela islands. It was really nice to not have to worry about any transfers, have our itinerary planned out for us, and to stay at great hotels. Finch Bay on Santa Cruz island, Galapagos was AMAZING, as were all the tour guides, drivers, and escorts that interacted with us through the company.

We loved the activities we did, and Linda did a great job taking our preferences into account. She is super communicative, friendly, helpful, and responsive, including when we had some last minute requests / change of plans. Highly recommend!

Nina S.
Nina S.
Newark, NJ
Feb 16 - Feb 24, 2024

EcuadorThe trip was excellent as we got to ...

Ecuador

The trip was excellent as we got to see both the old town and the new town of Quito. The country side of both the mountains and jungle gave us interesting perspectives of the culture. We enjoyed eating at the local places that our guide recommended.

And a special shout out to Ramona, our simian assistant who enjoyed taking free rides on our families shoulders.

Erin T.
Erin T.
Canada
Feb 15 - Feb 23, 2024

Excellent Ecuador trip

Good planning by Mathias. Everything went smoothly. Our guide in Quito was knowledgeable, and accommodating to our requests
The five day cruise booked in Galapagos was excellent

Gary W.
Atlanta, GA
Feb 1 - Feb 9, 2024

Explore the World

Our trip was amazing from the hotel and day spent in Quito to the 5 nights onboard the Eco Galaxy. Our guides were knowledgeable and fun our excursions were amazing. This was a trip of a life time to Equador and the Galápagos Islands. Mathias had every detail perfectly planned out. I look forward to using them many times in the future o explore the world

Laurie P.
Laurie P.
Chicago, IL
Jan 28 - Feb 4, 2024

It was an amazing trip. It was a very action ...

It was an amazing trip. It was a very action packed trip, lots of walking, snorkeling and sight seeing. We saw such incredible nature and I felt like I got to see a great deal of what the islands had to offer. The guide Astrid was so knowledgeable, we enjoyed the Darwin museum . The entire crew of the Bonita were so amazing, hardworking, kind, people. Renny our island guide and Deanna (lovely hostess) were particularly wonderful.

Bill V.
Manhattan, NY
Jan 5 - Jan 16, 2024

I e-mailed and spoke with Linda to have a fab...

I e-mailed and spoke with Linda to have a fabulous trip of 12 days. After 2 days on our own Milton Chiqui Lopez took us to sites around Quito-highlighted by the weird effects at the equator-we visited the charming mountain of Baños in the high Andes. The 4 hour drive each way was scenic.
The trip ended with a trip into the deep Amazon rainforest to the extraordinary La Selva lodge Biden by a lake. Ore guide Dan Hicks was a 16 year veteran from England. Four days of walks and canoe rides to explore both flora and fauna. F
Innovative Euro-American cuisine that was 5 star. Luxurious accommodations high in the jungle.All rides to airports were smooth, courtesy of Alejandro & son
It was perfect.

Noe N.
Noe N.
Lake Isabella, CA
Dec 19 - Dec 31, 2023

Everyone involvEveryone involved in the planning and execution of this trip was topnotch!

Everyone involved in the planning and execution of this trip was topnotch! A special thanks to Mathias for pulling it all together though and having excellent communication and flexibility! This was our 3rd trip through them and I highly recommend their platform/service. Fantastic trip in terms of meeting what we were looking to do/see. Would highly recommend!

Cindy M.
Lubbock, TX
Nov 26 - Nov 30, 2023

Planned a Perfect Trip for our Family

Everything from beginning to end of our trip to the Galapagos was a wonderful experience! This was our first trip planned by them, and we could not be more pleased. Linda Schultz was so easy to work with, and patient with questions and prompt with her answers. The welcome gift of Ecuadorian products that was waiting for us at our hotel before departure was a pleasant surprise. Indira Torres met us at the airport on Baltra and endeared herself to us immediately. What a treasure of a local guide! Liz Arboleda also took good care of us on Santa Cruz Island, helping us get to and from our transfers to Isabella Island. Our guide on Isabella (Nelly) was also attentive and flexible to our needs. Our two hotels (Plaza Luna and Isamar) were fantastic! Plaza Luna stored some of our luggage so we didn’t have to take it all to Isabella, and sent some laundry out for us (all thanks to Liz’s suggestion.). And what a fantastic breakfast! Both hotels had great locations and amenities. Every meal arranged was a winner. The snorkeling excursion on Isabella was most enjoyable. We did everything we wanted to do in our 5 day itinerary, and had the perfect amount of free time for doing our own exploring. Thank you, Linda, for a perfect vacation to Galapagos!

Nathan C.
Nathan C.
San Jose, CA
Nov 13 - Nov 27, 2023

Ecuador experience -- Amazon, Andes, and Galapagos

Fantastic trip to Ecuador. We hadn’t heard of KimKim before, but the sample itineraries looked cool and so we inquired. Mathias of Authentic Ecuador responded right away and we evolved an itinerary that covered the major areas of Amazon, Andes, and Galapagos in 15 days. Going with 2 kids, there were a few long travel days, but the itinerary spaced those out with other more-relaxed days. Mathias was great, always responsive and tailoring everything to what we wanted. We preferred accommodation that had “character” and he got us a cool boutique hotel in Quito, a remote Amazon lodge, and a lodge with panoramic windows on a volcano. (Though he of course couldn’t control the weather which was cloudy that day).

Local guides and drivers were great. Especially Mishell in Quito & mainland — very organized and thorough. And Daniela in Galapagos — very knowledgeable local naturalist with lots of energy. Only hiccup was a date-switch on which island we were doing on a day-trip boat excursion. But not their fault — boat operator changed the dates with only one day notice and we didn’t have cell phones that worked to be contacted. They did send a private driver to get us to the correct place, albeit late.

Overall, very pleased with our trip and experience. Prices were mostly in line with what I had researched, maybe a bit on the high side, but tradeoff is the customization and responsiveness which was top-notch.

Two thumbs up!

Stuart S.
Charleston, SC
Nov 9 - Nov 16, 2023

A phenomenal way to experience Ecuador

Cristobal was our main guide for our time on mainland Ecuador and he was exceptional; friendly, informative, and thorough. We had a series of help on the Galapagos including Paola, Liz, and the proprietor of our incredible Hotel, Jessica. All of them were wonderful as well.
We shot ourselves in the foot a bit by booking such a short trip and trying to mix evening celebrations with early morning excursions, but we left feeling we had made the most of our time in Ecuador.
Isabel was manning the control decks and absolutely nailed it. We had exceptional guides for every step of our journey and she made sure all of our shuttling throughout Ecuador was adequately chaperoned.
Would emphatically recommend Isabel, Cristobal, and the whole team–but would also encourage anyone to book a longer trip than you think you’ll need to allow for some R&R (we booked 8 days to hit Quito, Baños, and the Galapagos).

JP H.
Morrisville, NC
Nov 1 - Nov 13, 2023

My trip to Ecuador was a blast!! Mathias did...

My trip to Ecuador was a blast!!
Mathias did a great job drawing out a 13-day itinerary, tailored to my interests. The one-on-one guides, naturalist, and drivers were professional and fantastic except one who was soon replaced by Authentic. The group boat tours at Galapagos were even more exciting; loved seeing many sea birds and animals. The experiences are unforgetable.
I highly recommend this itinerary, showing one the city Quito, the equator origin, the highland Cotopaxi national park, the green Mindo, and the oceanic islands of Galapagos!
Thank you!

Sunita B.
Sunita B.
United Kingdom
Oct 29 - Nov 3, 2023

Linda organised a great trip to the Galápagos...

Linda organised a great trip to the Galápagos and Quito.. We went back and forth in what would suit us best. Linda was very patient throughout the process and didn’t hesitate to call to discuss queries. It was great that she came to the hotel in Quito to meet us so that we could put a face to the name.
Our guide Sebastian and his father Alexander who picked us up from the airport were fabulous.
They were knowledgeable and went out of their way to make sure everyone in our group was catered for. Our thanks to the whole team for a truly great experience and holiday.

Denise M.
Encinitas, CA
Sep 16 - Sep 28, 2023

Incredible vacation!!

Everything from start to finish on this trip has been outstanding. From the moment we began planning, Mathias was on point with the experience we were looking for. Our hotels were perfect and each segment of our trip was personalized just for us. Our guide Danny was the best and added so much to everything we did. We loved our Galapagos add on and are so glad we included that portion of the trip! Mathias couldn’t have done better tailoring our excursions. We really appreciated how he kept in contact with us throughout the trip to make sure everything was going well and answer any questions we may have had. This was truly an amazing and unique experience and one we will never forget. Thank you Mathias, and Danny for a great vacation!!

Pat P.
Pat P.
San Pedro, CA
Sep 7 - Sep 15, 2023

We had a wonderful time in the Galapagos, par...

We had a wonderful time in the Galapagos, partly on our own and partly with guides and drivers arranged by Isabel. We loved staying on two different islands (Santa Cruz and Isabella) to experience the contrast -one developed and busy, the other slow slow slow with a dirt road as main street.
Snorkeling at Concha de Perla and las Tuneles and kayaking at las Tintoreras were highlights. Beware the boat ride to Los Tuneles on a rough sea, it can be pretty exciting.

Isabel was lovely – patient and helpful throughout the planning with many changes on our part including a delay in our trip due to unexpected surgery for one of us.

Jhilam I.
Princeton, NJ
Jul 18 - Jul 26, 2023

Best Trip Ever!!!

When the guide I had been talking to about our upcoming trip to Ecuador fell through, I reached out to Kimkim on a lark. Mathias responded shortly thereafter and, over the next couple of weeks, put together a fantastic itinerary for us – all the while keeping our wishes and budget in consideration. The week we spent in Ecuador turned out to be our most fun, interesting and relaxing trip ever! Mathias had arranged for Danny Guaman to be our guide – Danny was absolutely wonderful from the moment we met him. Each day was full of things to do and see, while allowing for leisurely meals and time to unwind. We toured the old city and had a cooking class in Quito. We beheld amazing vistas of lakes, lagoons, mountains and volcanoes. We went birdwatching, and visited a butterfly farm and a hummingbird sanctuary. We had a chocolate tour and ate delicious food. We went to the Middle of the World and did fun experiments. We learned about the culture and history of Ecuador, met kind locals, and went shopping at the huge handicraft market in Otavalo. There was also a very sweet birthday surprise at the chocolate shop in Mindo for our son who turned 16 during the trip. Throughout our travels, Mathias kept in touch and checked in on us. I can easily say that, from our airport pick up to drop off, this was an extremely enjoyable and stress-free vacation, and a deeply memorable one – thanks to Mathias and Danny and the entire team! We fell in love with this gorgeous gem of a country and hope to return to see more of Ecuador one day.

Lisa P.
Lisa P.
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 14 - Aug 3, 2023

Highly recommend kimkim for Ecuador holiday!

I had a fantastic once-in-a-lifetime holiday in Ecuador – thanks to kimkim! Our local specialist, Mathias, was very accommodating as I had many requests and questions. He was responsive and flexible in setting our itinerary. He was also in great communication with us throughout our trip. I appreciated that we worked with many local tour companies throughout the trip, supporting the local economy and experiencing the culture of Ecuador. I highly recommend kim kim and I am grateful to Mathias for making our holiday memorable, fun and rewarding!

Warren J.
Denver, CO
Jul 4 - Jul 10, 2023

Perfect Andes Bike Tour

We had fun! Isabel was excellent in providing the right amount of preparation and support for this vacation. Quito and the national parks were truly unique experiences for our party of seasoned cyclists yet there were no fears, there were no surprises and nothing went wrong on our vacation. Thank you Isabel for maintaining What’sApp contact with us throughout our journey. Biking guide Alirio and driverJose were the best , always accommodating to our needs. Both anticipated our biking abilities and had prepared routes that were appropriately challenging. KimKim, Isabel, Alirio, Jose you are the best! Thank you.

Stephanie F.
Arvada, CO
Jun 2 - Jun 10, 2023

We had an amazing time on our trip in Ecuador...

We had an amazing time on our trip in Ecuador. The hotels were perfect, providing clean places to sleep along with delivering character. All of our guides along the way were kind, punctual, and very informative. Mathias met us on the second day and checked in regularly with us. Santiago was so fun and informative on our bike tour. Alerio was wonderful. He was patient and fun and very informative. We really enjoyed our time with him.

The whole trip ran smoothly and according to plan. Thank you!

Samyadev D.
Samyadev D.
Dumont, NJ
May 23 - Jun 2, 2023

Trip to Equador and Galapagos May-June 2023

My wife Mala and I had a great trip to Equador and Galapagos. Many thanks to Mathias and his entire team.
Mathias made all the arrangements and even though we had to make multiple changes, it was never a problem.
We had to change dates of travel, no problems
We had to change our cruise ship, no problems
We wanted to do full day birding, no problems
He suggested that we stay at Tombopaxi, in Cotopaxi National park. No problems
Danny Arias was our guide for most of the days. He was very patient and knowledgeable
Neiser Arias was bird watchinf guide. He was very patient, knowledgeable and knew his birds really well. If we do a dedicated bird watchng tour, we will surely use him again
I wish we had a few more days to enjoy more of Equador
Highly recommend Mathias and his entire team for all matters Equador

Malgosia P.
Belgium
Apr 16 - Apr 28, 2023

Ecuador: Beyond Amazing!

This is a long overdue review of a trip we made to Ecuador together with my friend Ewa in April this year. It was one of the best trips I have ever experienced in my life. Our trip was very professionally planned and organised by Mathias, who remained patient and cool even with our very late feedback [SIC!] or constantly changing ideas. Something we are certainly very grateful for.
Our itinerary included Galapagos, Cuenca, Ingapirca, Baños, Cotopaxi, Yasuni National Park and of course Quito and all of this in just … 13 days.
Galapagos is considered one of the world’s wonders for a reason with its beautiful landscapes, exotic creatures big and small, unspoiled nature, all of it makes the visit a once in a lifetime experience. We were staying in the Ikala hotel in Puerto Ayora in Santa Cruz. It is a nice, family run hotel, clean with very friendly staff and an excellent restaurant. The hotel offered an early breakfast to go which was a very good idea when heading for day long boat trips to uninhabited islands (Bartolome and Seymour Norte in our case). Exploring Santa Cruz was also an adventure in itself and we were happy to have an extra free day on the island to explore Puerto Ayora and visit the stunning Tortuga Bay. I would also highly recommend a short, half a day visit, to a coffee farm which turned out to be a chocolate farm and aguardiente production site at the same time. Coffee, chocolate, and alcohol in one place, what more could one possibly dream of?
From Galapagos we headed back to the mainland. Cuenca is a unique example of the Spanish colonial architecture with a very vibrant community. We had an opportunity to visit the Panama hat factory, as well as several workshops in the villages nearby, continuing centuries long tradition of local crafts, such as jewellery making, textiles or ceramics. In moments like this you wish you would bring an extra bag or two to be able to bring back home more of those wonders. This was also an excellent opportunity to have a lot of interesting conversations. In Cuenca we stayed in the Hotel Boutique Santa Lucía which has a unique historic charm and a very good restaurant. From Cuenca we went to the archaeological site of Ingapirca, a place to visit if you like history and would like to learn something more about the soul of Ecuador. We visited Ingapirca in rain and fog, but it only added to the experience of mystery and contemplation.
Our next stop was Baños, where we got lucky with the weather, and we could admire the stunning views of the mountains and take advantage of all possible tourist attractions. A visit to the waterfalls is a must. We continued our trip through the volcano road to the bottom of Cotopaxi, again an unforgettable experience topped with a very nice meal at the nearby restaurant. My only regret was that we could not stay longer to do some longer hikes in the area.
The final stop of our trip was visiting the Yasuni National Park and Napo Cultural Center. I would never have thought that I would feel at home in the jungle. Yes, it is hot and humid and there are plenty of insects but the welcome by the local community, its unique hospitality and the unspoiled beauty of the place made an incredible impression on us. The accommodation was simple but clean and comfortable. We made several trips to the jungle (especially a night walk which was an experience in itself) with experienced local guides who were very keen on sharing their knowledge. The eco-lodge provides for the local community allowing it to remain close to the lifestyle of their ancestors and natural environment. It also provides for the local school where children can learn three languages (Kichwa, Spanish and English) which we found very impressive.
As we entered and departed Ecuador through Quito, the guided city tour was an excellent way to end our visit. While in Quito we also had an opportunity to visit the Oswaldo Guayasamín museum, which we would recommend visiting to anyone interested in arts and culture.
On our way back to the airport, a taxi driver asked us what we liked the best in Ecuador, I went speechless, but Ewa brilliantly replied: “gente” – people. We were so very lucky to meet extremely kind and welcoming people all along our journey, proud of their heritage but curious about others. This is why our special words of appreciation go to our two very special guides: Astrid and Milton. Astrid was our guide on Galapagos, and we could not have been luckier! Astrid is very knowledgeable, full of energy and has a sparkling personality; visiting the turtle refuge and the coffee farm with her was a real pleasure. We also haven’t enough words of praise for Milton our guide in Cuenca and further up through the avenue of the Volcanos. Milton is an excellent guide, a great companion, with a sense of humour who is never tired of the strangest question. Even in the most challenging of circumstances, as some parts of our journey were quite difficult because of the weather conditions and heavy rainfall when we had to take a detour around the Pan-American highway through the steep and muddy mountain roads, he kept his cool and we always felt very safe.

Will P.
Hickory, NC
Apr 12 - Apr 21, 2023

We had an absolutely amazing time in Quito, M...

We had an absolutely amazing time in Quito, Mindo, and the Galapagos!

I was trying to create the best 30th birthday trip to my adventurous, nature-loving fiance and this trip truly delivered. I only wish we both had more time off from work to explore more of the Galapagos Islands. Our local specialist, Linda, was amazing to work with and very responsive to our questions. She even added the nice personal touch of meeting us in Quito. We got to meet so many interesting people on our trip as well, including backpackers/travelers and locals. Our state appointed tour guides in the Galapagos (including Astrid and Nathalie) were all very knowledgeable: you could literally ask them anything!

Highlights of our trip include:
1. Walking tour around Quito
2. The cloud forest in Mindo which included Zipling, hummingbird preserve (so, so many beautiful species), a chocolate making tour, and early morning bird watching (we got to see 4/5 types of toucans and feed hummingbirds from our hands!)
3. Standing along the ECUATOR!!!
4. Swimming/snorkeling with 20+ hammer head sharks and green sea turtles at kicker rock (near San Cristobal)
5. Exploring the giant tortoise reserve on Santa Cruz. (Did you know that because of the introduction of guava to the islands these gentle giants are developing diabetes? It seems these beautiful creatures have a real sweet tooth and that we sadly have caused!)
6. Spying on nesting Blue-Footed Boopies and frigate birds, looking for marine and land iguanas, and watching sea lions surf on north Seymore island.
7. Swimming with fur seals, sea lions, and other marine animals and fish off north Seymore island
8. Exploring a coffee and chocolate farm on Santa Cruz, as well as learning how they produce a local favor adult beverage.
9. Watching penguins swim and albatross sore, as well as learning about the volcanic creation of the islands at San Bartolome island.

As a former backpacker our accommodations were absolutely fantastic and luxurious. The food was also wonder and a key part of the experiences as well.

Verdict: We will definitely be using them again and we will be back to the Galapagos!

Abby S.
Abby S.
New Orleans, LA
Apr 4 - Apr 16, 2023

Fantastic Peru

Out trip to Peru was fantastic. Mathias was extremely helpful with all aspects of planning. When we were in country we got a respiratory virus and Mathias went out of his way to help us and get us home safely. We did get to enjoy a week of travel in Peru. The country is amazing. Our guide, Aldo Sanchez was marvelous. He was extremely knowledgable about the Incas and all aspects of life in Peru. He took excellent care of us and also was a tremendous support when we became ill. I would %100 recommend them for any adventure in Peru.

Drew G.
San Francisco, CA
Mar 23 - Mar 30, 2023

Our guide Linda was AWESOME

Our guide Linda was AWESOME and so easy to work with. We threw a lot at her — lot of requests and preferences — but she did a great job creating a great itinerary for us. And if we had any feedback or wanted to make any changes, she was so easy to work. We got to do everything on our travel wish list and would absolutely work with Linda again on our next Ecuador trip.

paul h.
paul h.
Four Corners, FL
Feb 18 - Mar 1, 2023

Isabel, our local specialist, rocked it! She...

Isabel, our local specialist, rocked it! She checked in on us and was always there with any guidance if needed. She provided us with Manuel, who guided us during this trip. He amazed us with his knowledge of the places he took us, both on the road and while hiking areas that were very remote. He was always on time picking us up, always kind and courteous and worked very hard to make our time in Ecuador special. It was like we had a good friend in Ecuador showing us around! We asked for 3 days in Quito, 5 days of hiking the mountains and volcanos and 4 days in the Amazon and could not have written a better script. Anyone wanting to visit this beautiful country should use them…we will use them for our next trip back. My wife is already talking about a girls trip in the future! Thank you for some amazing memories!!!!

Judy R.
Eugene, OR
Feb 14 - Feb 28, 2023

Our guides were amazing. Christobal had so mu...

Our guides were amazing. Christobal had so much to share with us on this trip. He gave us a real feeling for the national parks. He is kind, funny and great company. Not to mention, being a great photographer!
Sebastian was bursting with information, and insights. He took us to various artisans.

Victor knew his territory and was fun to be with.

The layout of the trip was great, with all the beautiful national parks, the visit to Cuenca.
The only suggestion I would make would be less time in Loja— it’s a bustling city, more like a college town.
All of our guides were wonderful, full of knowledge about Ecuador, local customs, and easy to get along with.

Liz S.
Liz S.
West Mifflin, PA
Feb 6 - Feb 11, 2023

Outstanding trip to Ecuador mainland

Our trip to Ecuador was indeed amazing (meeting and exceeding our expectations). The excursions were excellent! The trip was fabulous!! From start to finish, the team (Mathais, Danny and excursion guides) were responsive, on time, professional and courteous. Prior to our trip, Mathais listened carefully to our requests and helped us prepare the perfect itinerary. From the minute we walked off the plane in Quito, we were met by our personal guide Danny who was outstanding! He escorted us every leg of the trip and made sure our travels went smoothly and were top notch throughout our mainland journey that included 2 days in Quito, a day in Banos, a day in Archidona, and hours in Papillacta thermal baths before we flew to Galapagos. In Ecuador mainland, we visited all the places on our itinerary, never felt rushed, and were able to indulge or move along at our own pace – Danny had a great knack for knowing when to be there for us or leave us to venture on our own. We opted for standard hotels that were lovely, clean, hosted by nice folks, and served good breakfasts before we ventured out on our excursions. Mathias made a point to meet and welcome us while we were in Quito, which we thought was classy. Danny spent hours driving us between cities and time flew – Danny was a great conversationalist and shared a wealth of knowledge and love for his country and people and nature and history, which made our drives and excursions all the more enjoyable. Great mix of private and small group tours. Highly recommend all the excursions on our itinerary: Quito City, Middle of the World, Swing, Banos waterfalls (esp Devils Cauldron) and tram, Amazon basin Napo river, rainforest lodge and hike, and Papillacta hot springs. Be aware there are some touristy areas (Banos, Middle of world) and lousy internet, but chalk it up to part of the experience. The people, the country, the food, the nature all beautiful. If you are planning to go to Galapagos following mainland trip recommend the Holiday Inn by airport to reset.

Lynn H.
Germantown, MD
Feb 5 - Feb 17, 2023

Best vacation I’ve ever had!

This was the first time I’ve ever used a Travel Agency and the first time I’ve ever been on a small-group guided tour. It was a fantastic experience. The itinerary that Mathias put together was well coordinated and thought out. The activities varied from the active to the intellectual. Milton was a fantastic guide who was knowledgeable about Ecuador in general and the Andes in particular. He was helpful, patient, and flexible changing plans to accommodate our needs. He went out of his way to make sure everyone had an enjoyable experience. I particularly enjoyed our hike to Catopaxi. I also greatly appreciated his role as translator when he accompanied our group on a hike in the Amazon jungle and an exploration of a cave. His presence made me feel safe and comfortable. Galapagos snorkeling was my favorite part of the entire trip. I had the chance to Galapagos penguins, rays, octopus, sharks.. even two hammerheads, turtles, a large blue spiny lobster, and too many fish to name. Our Galapagos guide, David, and the crew aboard the Galaxy were fantastic. They all were friendly, competent, knowledgeable, patient, and accommodating. I would love to do this again!

Paula D.
Paula D.
Wheaton, MD
Feb 4 - Feb 17, 2023

Exceptional Trip to Beautiful Ecuadro

This was my first-time using them for my travels and I was impressed with the entire process. Mathais was quick to provide information and was very knowledgeable. Milton was an amazing guide and we really enjoyed spending time with him on the first part of our journey. The staff on the Galaxy was also nice. Enjoyed the entire process and plan on arranging another trip to Ecuador in 2024 to see more sites.

Nicole S.
Canada
Jan 28 - Feb 10, 2023

2 week incredible Ecuador trip

We had the most amazing time in Ecuador. We spent 2 weeks there and were able to see so much more than if we had attempted to plan this ourselves. The tours, guides, hotels and transports were all perfectly coordinated and made the trip stress free for us! Linda really put the most spectacular trip together!!! 10/10 recommend for anyone!!

Stuart K.
Stuart K.
Apopka, FL
Jan 24 - Feb 2, 2023

Astrid was a terrific local guide and so know...

Astrid was a terrific local guide and so knowledgeable.
The various islands were great choices.

Derral R.
Granger, IN
Jan 16 - Jan 19, 2023

Reeve Review

Our guide Ven was phenomenal and very attentive to all our needs. We also were very impressed with the vegetarian meals that the cook provided. We loved the tower, the wall and the river paddling trip. We were able to view over 130 different birds which exceeded my expectations. Thank you for your time.

Jamie M.
Jamie M.
Winter Park, FL
Dec 19 - Dec 28, 2022

Ecuador 😊

Where to start and what to say is not easy because words can’t necessarily do justice to how amazing of a trip was planned for us and the excellent treatment we received from both our trip planner Linda and our stellar tour guide Milton!
From the very start what made them standout was how effective and efficient Linda was in communicating back and forth to understand what Stephanie and I were looking for in an experience. Linda surpassed all our expectations with the itinerary and the details that went into each day to make sure we got to enjoy a range of activities. Linda constantly checked on with us during the trip too in order to make sure everything was beyond satisfactory showing an awareness to go above and beyond…even with a surprise visit in person to give it the personal touch!!
For anyone that gets lucky enough to book a trip through Linda you will feel privileged!!
Milton as a tour guide only elevated our trip from there and his personality, photography skills, knowledge of the respective areas we visited, enthusiasm and ability to understand speaking English made it a SUPERB holiday!!! There’s sincerely not enough positive we can share about Milton in a review!!!
Two things comes to mind for anyone taking time to read this…one is Ecuador is incredible and is the most diverse and characteristic country this well travelled couple has been to and secondly you WILL want to ONLY book through Linda. No matter if the investment is higher than other operators…the decision will be the best decision you could make for yourself!!!!

Lisa T.
Burleson, TX
Dec 16 - Dec 30, 2022

This company is the real deal. I was skeptic...

This company is the real deal. I was skeptical to use a travel agent to book a trip but I am so glad I did. I found them on a Facebook page and decided to give them a try. Matthias communicated with me in a timely fashion and listened to what I wanted and made it happen. We were greeted as we walked out of the airport and from there everything was very close to perfect. We had great hotels; great excursions; great tour guides and food. We felt safe every where we went and could not have asked for a better service.
From Quito to Galapagos to Banos and finally Archidona, it was a Fantastic Vacation! Thank you so much.

10 out of 10, would highly recommend

Hillary P.
Manhattan, NY
Dec 12 - Dec 17, 2022

Checked all of the checkboxes!

All of our local guides and experts were extremely knowledgeable, helpful, and quick to respond with help and recommendations. In our relatively short trip, we felt like all of our major interests were planned out and we didn’t feel like we missed out on anything at all.

Plenty of snorkeling, hiking, and sight-seeing, with just enough downtime to check out the towns and local digs. We don’t normally travel with so much hand holding, but for the Galapagos where so much is protected and must be visited with a National Guide anyway, this process and itinerary were perfect!

The lodgings selected for us were also right up our alley–quaint and boutique with a local touch, while still providing respite and privacy.

We had one morning with miscommunicated tour times, but it was not a big deal and it just meant we had more time for breakfast!

Debby D.
Debby D.
Canada
Nov 25 - Dec 9, 2022

Linda is the best!!

Linda did an amazing job of planning our trip to Ecuador and the Galapagus Islands.
We had 10 days in Ecuador and everything was perfectly coordinated. Pickup, drop offs, detail of the tours and admissions were all taken care of and detailed out in our itinerary. We had Christian as a guide and Guillermo as a driver and they were exceptional. Christian was extremely knowledgeable of all aspect of Ecuador and was great at giving us details of how long a drive we would have, where to buy snacks and punctual for all pickups and drop offs.
When we went to the Galapagos for our last 4 days we did not get the same level of detail that we had come to expect after being with Christian. The Galapagos part was still good but we did have to ask for information and weren’t always given enough details. ex. Halfway through a 5 km hike we were told there were no bathroom and the length of the hike. We would still highly recommend Linda and Kim KIm for travel to Ecuador. Linda went above and beyond to adjust our itinerary before we left to be exactly what we wanted. She is exceptionally good at her job! If Linda is available to plan your trip she will do an excellent job for your Ecuador travel.

Parveen I.
Manhattan, NY
Nov 18 - Nov 27, 2022

The Galapagos Island Tour

First and foremost a big thank you to our travel agent Linda. She was very responsive, knowledgeable and great to work with. All the tour guides were excellent.

Andrea R.
Baltimore, MD
Nov 12 - Nov 19, 2022

Milton was our guide and he was always attent...

Milton was our guide and he was always attentive, informative , and patient. Was an absolute pleasure to be around and always made us feel comfortable i cannot praise this guide enough he really is an amazing human being who is passionate about his work and gives beyond what is expected. We visited quito, quotopaxi and banos. We were a group of three with different tastes but we absolutely loved every place and every single activity. My personal favorite (if i had to choose) was the middle of the earth( the real one) and the huge swing in banos and the hot springs and pavilion del diablo and the canyoning.

Vivian Z.
Fresh Meadows, NY
Nov 7 - Nov 18, 2022

12 days in Ecuador

We had an amazing 12 days tour in Ecuador. the beautiful landscapes around the highlands of the Andes, the adventure in Amazon rainforest basin and also the wonderful close look at diverse societies. we stayed 4 days 3 nights in La Selva Lodge, it is a nice place , suitable for most of travelers who are interested in adventure in Yasuni national park. From Quito to Cuenca, we visited some famous Catholic churches and most of the great places like Cotopaxi national park, Quilotoa Lake, the ruins of Ingapirca and Cacha, a small town in Chimborazo province. Our guide Danny is very knowledgeable, he introduced everything in detail and explained clearly, it left a strong impression us on us about the lives of the indigenous people. all accommodation we stayed were so fantastic with delicious meals, tasty beverage and nice views. we’d like to say thank you to Mathias, he’s so helpful, and help us made this trip unforgettable.

Autumn J.
Grant, MI
Nov 4 - Nov 20, 2022

15 days exploring Ecuador

I can’t tell you how perfectly our custom-made Ecuador itinerary turned out! Linda, our travel specialist, was incredible. She not only helped us to plan an itinerary that suited our family perfectly, but she also provided exceptional support while we were on our journey. Our luggage took 8 days to arrive in Quito after we did, and Linda went above and beyond our expectations, communicating with the airport, and ultimately personally shipping our bags from Quito to meet us in Cuenca! Alejandro, our driver, was also an integral part of the perfection of our vacation. We spent hours and hours in the car with him, but this became one of our favorite parts of the journey as Alejandro spent the time teaching us. During our travel time we learned about Ecuador’s history, culture, diversity of microclimates, and more!

All of the locations we chose to spend a few days at were amazing, but I think we all agree that Mindo was our favorite. In Mindo we were able to both explore a small Ecuadorian town and a myriad of cloud forest experiences.

Thank you Linda and Alejandro! I won’t hesitate to recommend your services ❤️

Dyllon M.
Dyllon M.
Longmont, CO
Oct 8 - Oct 14, 2022

This was an amazing trip! Everything was so o...

This was an amazing trip. Everything was so organized and Isabel, the travel specialist we worked with, was so helpful in promptly answering all questions. Once we got to the Galapagos everything went so smoothly. The hotels and tours were great. Overall, I cannot recommend this trip, and using kimkim and Isabel to arrange/organize everything enough.

Bree m.
Bree m.
Wilton, CT
Sep 30 - Oct 10, 2022

Absolutely fantastic experience!

Absolutely fantastic experience! Our coordinator, Linda, was extremely responsive, easy to work with, and listened to all of our requests when planning our trip/activities. Sebastian and Alejandro, our tour guides, made this trip even more extraordinary with their knowledge, ease and recommendations along the way.

Khulood A.
Bahrain
Sep 26 - Sep 30, 2022

Fantastic trip to Ecuador!

During my trip to Ecuador, I visited Otavalo, Quito, Cotopaxi and Mindo. They arranged for transportations, local and indigenous guides, and I had a great time with all of them- especially Danny Arias, David and Fausto.
In Otavalo, I visited the Cuicocha Lagoon, Peguche falls, and the artisan market, followed by a traditional Ecuadorian lunch. I appreciate that the guides catered to my food preferences and allergies!
I enjoyed seeing the hummingbirds and butterflies in Mindo, but freaked out when I reached the zipline and decided not to do it😅 I loved the chocolate experience and everything about the trip today, Mindo is so green and beautiful!
On the way back we passed by the Inti nan museum, and I was amazed by the experiments related to the equator.
Cotopaxi was absolutely magical and breathtaking! I wished I had more time to spend in the Andes and the avenue of the volcanoes.

Thank you Mathias and the team for making my trip truly exceptional and authentic!

Michael S.
Michael S.
New York, NY
Aug 27 - Sep 1, 2022

Custom Podocarpus National Park Trip

Linda was able to create a custom trip for us to visit Loja and the Podocarpus National Park. She was great at working with us to shape an itinerary with complex transfers and a handful of special considerations.

Everything went great! The guides were fantastic (especially Milton in Quito), the hotels were nice, the park was beautiful, and the transfers smooth. The Loja coffee tasting set up by our guide Kevin was a surprise highlight and HIGHLY recommended if you’re in or near Loja–Ecuadorean coffee is a much better gift for folks back home than t-shirts :).

Leona F.
Leona F.
Manhattan, NY
Aug 20 - Aug 29, 2022

Amazing Trip

Our tour of Ecuador with Sebastian couldn’t have been better. From pickup at the airport to each destination, and finally back to the airport, he was with us every step of the way with local knowledge, humor, easy fluent English, and a great attitude. While some of the roads in Ecuador can be a little concerning, he’s patient and responsible driving put our minds at ease as we traveled easily and safely. He consistently went the extra mile, finding us opportunities for a bit of extra adventure when available, recommending great restaurants all along the way. I can’t recommend Sebastian highly enough. If you’re considering a tour in Ecuador, do it with Sebastian. Also our expert trip planner, Mathias, was very helpful during the planning phase but also was diligent on checking up on us during the trip. He responded in a timely manner and seemed very knowledgeable about Ecuador. Highly recommend this company for planning your trips.

Brad H.
Brad H.
Attleboro, MA
Aug 12 - Aug 21, 2022

From the moment I started planning this trip ...

From the moment I started planning this trip and all the way through to completion, my experience was 5 stars. I travelled with 11 family members to Ecuador (ages ranging from 19 to 86). We E-Biked the streets of Quito, attended cooking classes, travelled and explored the Galapagos on private boats and white watered rafted in the Amazon. We also made chocolate from scratch and ate jungle shrimp (big gnarly slugs).

Mathias worked with me at the inception and helped us tailor a trip that was both action packed and educational. Every detailed was planned and flawlessly executed. We had great accommodations, meals (which I had included) and awesome guides.

My family has gone on trips the last few years (Iceland, Canary Islands, Croatia, etc.) and are not the easiest to please, but everyone commented that this was our best trip yet. Bravo to Matias for the coordination and to all the guides especially Milton.

Kevin F.
Kevin F.
North Canton, OH
Aug 10 - Aug 23, 2022

We had a great time in Ecuador! It’s a wonde...

We had a great time in Ecuador! It’s a wonderful place to visit and the people are very friendly. Our trip was about 2 weeks and we stayed in the mountains between Quito and Cuenca. Our driver Christobal was great and Isabel did a great job at making all of the arrangements at the hotels and coordinating all of the activities. I would highly recommend using both Isabel with Christobal if you want to have a nice time in Ecuador! Thanks again! 😃

Christian G.
Worcester, MA
Aug 4 - Aug 16, 2022

Ecuador: highlands and the Galapagos

Our 14-day vacation started on the right foot with Alejandro picking us up at the Quito Airport and giving us an intro to the country’s history on the way to the hotel. He was also great helping us through the airport for getting to the Galapagos and going home. The Old Town Quito Suites apartments were a perfect oasis for our family to relax between activities in the busy city. La Teleferico afforded a neat ride up the Pichincha volcano over Quito on our last day.

Jose and Oscar were our guides for Cotopaxi National Park. Lodging at Tambopaxi was surreal with the volcano looming closeby. Our family bike tour along the flanks of the volcano was 12 miles and mostly flat with a 5 mile gwntle downhill section ending at the Inca ruins and lunch. We all made it!

Christian took us to Mindo and guided us to El Quetzal’s chocolate tour, the Tarabita and waterfall hike/swim, amazing lunch lunch spots, and San Tadeo birding, where we saw hummingbirds, a crimson-rumped toucans, and many pale-mandibled aracaris. The Terrabambu Lodge bungalows (deluxe and family) were so peaceful and the kids loved the pool and pizza with the view..
On the way back to Quito, Christian guided us to Pululahua Crater and Mitad del Mundo. We shared a lot if interests with Christian, especially a love for mountainbiking.

On Santa Cruz, Astrid met us on Baltra and was our guide, introducing us to Los Gemmelos, El Chato tortoise reserve, and the Charles Darwin Research Center. La Isla Hotel was an elegant and modern resting place.

Pablo was very helpful for the interns land ferry.
On Isabela, Ricardo guided us to Las Tintororas, where we saw blue footed boobies, penguins, a green sea turtle, and many fish. He was great especially with offering breaks with hot tea and cookies and for helping our boys set up for snorkeling.. Javier guided us up Sierra Negra and Volcan Chico… a long, but moderate level hike over staggering geologic features. His knowledge of the area’s history and geology was fascinating.

Every activity was different, exciting, yet hard to rank since each was so wonderful. Our family spent a good 6 to 8 months reviewing and discussing options for our trip with Linda, and what we ended up with was perfect for our family… not over ambitious and we had some downtime at the end of each day… even with a few last minute changes. Everyone we met was also a pleasant experience. We had the trip of a lifetime and will miss everyone and everyplace.

Lance B.
Lance B.
University Place, WA
Jul 23 - Aug 5, 2022

Family vacation to Ecuador and Galapagos

My family of 4 spent a memorable 2 weeks in Ecuador and Galapagos recently. I can’t thank Isabel enough for our wonderful itinerary . She was so patient with us as we changed our itinerary 4-5 times during the planning. She was always willing to listen to our needs and accommodate to our requests. Her attentiveness continued even during our trip in Ecuador. I forgot my contact lenses which would have ruined the snorkeling excursions in Galapagos . Isabel went out of her way to find contact lenses and dropped them off at my hotel upon my return from Antisana National Park. This was completely above and beyond the call of duty. I so appreciated that.

I can not write this review without mentioning our AMAZING guide, Cristobal. From the moment he picked us up at the airport, we had nothing but first class treatment from Cristobal. He was personable, and knowledgeable. There wasn’t anything we ask that he didn’t know. His experience and recommendations gave us a close look at the Ecuadorian culture. It was something that we could have never experienced without his guidance. We would not consider going back to Ecuador without using Cristobal again as our guide.

Victoria C.
Chicago, IL
Jul 22 - Aug 3, 2022

Amazing trip to Galápagos

Galápagos Islands trip review

This is the second time we worked with Mathias for our trip. The first trip was Ecuador adventure tour including Quito, Banos, and Amazon. It was a great trip.

This time we worked with Mathias for our Galapagos island trip and it was amazing. Mathias is super thoughtful, he made sure that every single detail of the trip was taken care of. He is very patient and is so accommodating with our requests and needs. When we first arrived at the Quito hotel, Mathias met us in person with a gift of wine, chocolate, coffee, and soap. This is such a wonderful personal touch that made us feel so welcome.

During the trip, Mathias was available any time we needed any assistance and fixed any issues. On one our trips that they put us on a tour without kayaking, Mathias made sure to put us on another kayaking tour—complimentary from him. In the morning we left for Galápagos Islands the hotel forgot to pack us breakfast, Mathias offered us free breakfast after we checked in at the airport. In addition, we got an upgrade for our flight back to Quito from Santa Cruz. All these gestures made us feel super welcome and taken care of.

All the day tours we were on were amazing: with awesome tour guides and on time pick up and drop off—not a worry at all from our part. We were confident that we were well taken care of.

I would work with Mathias in the future again. He is truly an incredible person to work with and I give him the highest recommendations!

Claudio B.
United Kingdom
Jul 21 - Jul 28, 2022

Great support from Linda

Jennifer A.
Canada
Jul 14 - Jul 20, 2022

Thanks for the once-in-a-lifetime experience!!!

This was my first experience ever using a travel agent or having any kind of help planning a trip. I didn’t even know where to begin when planning a short trip to the Galapagos, and Mathias took my wishes into account and created the perfect trip. He was also very helpful when we had to postpone the trip due to a family emergency. The trip itinerary was just about perfect, full of wildlife growing as we wished. Our favorite day by far was visiting Espanola, which surprised me because I assumed visiting the giant tortoises would be my favorite (and that was still amazing, obviously, and I loved it, but Espanola just blew us away). But I think that’s the beauty of using local experts –they know what to suggest and what you might enjoy even more than you. All of our guides were amazing (Sol, Martin, Ulf, and Camilo). We had Martin two days in a row, which we loved, as he was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable. The Galapagos Sharksky boat and crew were also fantastic, and we were lucky to also have them two days in a row. The liaisons we had were so friendly and informative as well (Liz and Jorge). The hotels were perfect for us and it was so nice having the little things like transportation and snorkeling gear taken care of for us. Overall, it was such an amazing vacation and I’m so grateful for the experience!

Valentí G.
Valentí G.
Spain
Jul 2 - Jul 15, 2022

2 weeks in mainland Ecuador and Galapagos islands

Matthias was our travel specialist for our 2-week trip to mainland Ecuador and Galapagos Islands. He planned an itinerary including the capital Quito, the Amazon jungle at the Cuyabeno Reserve, the highlands with the city of Banos and Cotopaxi and Quilotoa volcanoes and finally Galapagos Islands. It was a fantastic trip and everything worked out very smoothly. As the time of our trip approached, Matthias provided us with plenty of exciting alternatives as it looked liked the protests by the indigenous communities will severely affect our initial plan (we were very lucky and it did not affect us in the end) but it was very reassuring to have him backing us up. He also showed up on the night of our bus to Cuyabeno to make sure there were no issues and was always available and making sure everything was right for us.
The guides provided for the activities also made sure we were having the best of the experiences. We’d like to give an special mention to Jimmy in Cuyabeno and Ulf Torsten in Sta Cruz (Galapagos). Overall it’s been a great experience and we’re happily recommending it!

Jacob S.
Laguna Beach, CA
Jun 21 - Jun 29, 2022

Great Team, Well Coordinated, Super Flexible/Accomodating

We honestly can’t say enough how much our family appreciated all the effort that went into planning and orchestrating our trip. There was some unexpected civil unrest throughout the country when we visited, we even considered cancelling the trip all together but we’re so glad that we didn’t. Mathias and his team were amazing and were great at keeping up to date on the situation and changed our itinerary to help us avoid protests and demonstrations. Although it was a bit dissapointing that we weren’t able to do everything we had originally planned on, the activities they replaced them with seemed just as good if not better and we still had a great time.

The other standout was just how well everything was coordinated. Between our tour guides, bus drivers, and hotel staff, it seemed like everyone knew our itinerary better than we did, and were so great about keeping us updated with the time table and what to expect. This was especially nice since we were travelling with small kids and helped us focus on the experience and not the logistics.

We would highly recommend Kimkim to anyone and of course Matias, Liz, Milton, and all the other great people we interacted with during our trip.

David D.
David D.
Stevens Point, WI
May 21 - May 27, 2022

Amazing Galapagos Adventure

A quick note that my family had an amazing trip to the Galapagos. A special thank you to Mathias who helped with the pre-planning, advance trip details and check-ins during the trip to make sure everything went smoothly.
We visited all three islands and had great excursions and experiences on all. Mathias planned just enough snorkeling, hiking and travel with down time to spend with the family. ALL of our guides were top notch and were prompt and very knowledgeable and engaging.
It is hard to pick favorites as we encountered something special everyday from swimming with playful sea lions to having an hour on our own private beach. Bartolome Island is a must and seeing and snorkeling with the penguins was an added bonus.
It was a once in a lifetime trip for my family and the service we received was A+ – thank you Mathias

Sandra K.
Columbia, SC
May 15 - May 24, 2022

Great trip to Galapagos Islands, Quito and Cotopaxi

I and my daughter had a great vacation with lots of fun adventures. Linda was wonderful and helped with the planning of the trip. Liz was our contact in the Galapagos and was a great source of information and helpful with some of the last minute changes and requests! Sebastian was our guide in Quito and Cotopaxi – – very reliable, personable, and lots of local information!

Rebecca K.
Rebecca K.
Philadelphia, PA
May 10 - May 23, 2022

Well-planned trip with knowledgeable and fun guide

Everything about this trip was wonderful! Mathias helped us plan the agenda to suit our needs and was very responsive to all of our questions. Sebastian was a knowledgeable and fun guide who introduced us to his country. Every day was full of fun and interesting activities catered to us. They even helped us plan two different tracks of activities in a day – some for those of us who preferred a more active day and others for those of us who didn’t. Highly recommend!

Arianna W.
Abington, PA
Apr 23 - May 2, 2022

Galapagos Adventure Packed Trip by Linda

I want to thank Linda and the whole local team for their help in organizing a family trip to Ecuador! We planned this trip as a wedding celebration instead of the traditional reception, to share our love of travel with those closest to us- our families! We had the most spectacular adventure-packed trip, and truly were able to see all the highlights of the Galapagos Islands in our week visiting. We particularly loved that we were able to customize our trip to be as active as we are. Every day was a new adventure, our families had such a great time, and we will never forget all the beautiful wildlife we were so fortunate to experience together.

We were taken care of every step of the way, with every transfer, guide and excursion meticulously thought out. Linda and the team even assisted with making dinner reservations for our large group for a few nights. Lisa, our local coordinator in Puerto Ayora, helped us with any last minute changes that we would otherwise have to figure out for ourselves. My husband and I are looking forward to coming back soon to continue to explore all that these islands have to offer. Thank you for the most wonderful memorable trip!

Nitin A.
Van Nuys, CA
Apr 7 - Apr 16, 2022

Linda planned an amazing trip for us.

Linda planned an amazing trip for us. We enjoyed the hotels, tour guides, and excursions.

Alexandra S.
Atlanta, GA
Apr 2 - Apr 9, 2022

Linda, Sebastian, and Alejandro were all fant...

Linda, Sebastian, and Alejandro were all fantastic! Linda planned the perfect week for our family to enjoy activities and take in the beautiful country. We had so much fun and loved our accommodations and tours. Would absolutely recommend!

Erin d.
Erin d.
Brentwood, TN
Mar 16 - Mar 21, 2022

This was an absolutely amazing trip, Mathias ...

This was an absolutely amazing trip, Mathias and his team were excellent. We were planning a trip for spring break with our 12 and eight-year-olds and looking for adventure that would also be appropriate for this age range. He worked with us on several different itineraries to give us options, listened to our requests for Accommodations, and provided us with the most amazing driver Sebastian who was so knowledgeable about the country, and very patient with our children! He went above and beyond to make sure everything was organized and we had everything needed. It was the little details, like buying fruit in the market for our family, and following up with pictures from our adventures that we really appreciate. My children could stop hugging him at the end of the trip! Mathis met us at our hotel at the beginning of our adventure and checked in with us throughout the way to make sure our expectations were met. He works with top notch Accommodations and vendors. We would not change a think about this trip, other than we wished we stayed longer! We can’t wait to go back and would 100 percent book with Mathis!

shilo n.
shilo n.
Cameron Park, CA
Mar 14 - Mar 29, 2022

Mathias was excellent, very responsive, even ...

Mathias was excellent, very responsive, even to last minute changes, and met us in person when we checked in! The Alejandros, Jose, Fabian, Dario, Julian, and probably some others i may not remember names, were all wonderful. Ecuador is a beautiful place, not to mention the Galapagoes, WOW. highly recommend it. Never felt unsafe. Accommodations were all excellent. Loved the cooking class. 2 favorites: the Amazon jungle lodge – Aguas Negras( Fabian), and of course the Gallapagoes which was the whole reason we went. Snorkeled with Pengiuns!!! Can’t recommend this company enough!! 5+ stars!!

Cheri B.
Sullivan, MO
Feb 27 - Mar 15, 2022

A lot to see!

I spent 15 days in Ecuador touring areas around Quito, the Amazon, and the Galapagos islands. I traveled alone with a guide until he dropped me off to go to the Galapagos.
I used Quito as a home base and took a free day, explored the old town and middle of the world museum, Otavalo, and Cotopaxi. I also stayed in Mindo and Banos. They were worth visiting.
In the Amazon, I stayed at the Kuyana lodge and in the Galapagos used Santa Cruz as a home base.
I was pleased with the work Mathias did on my travel plan, his response time, and how he kept in touch nearly daily. He managed to incorporate my special requests of a visit to the rose farm, the Condor Parque, and a horse ride. I had a special interest in those things and thought they were worth the time, although the ride to the Condor Parque was long. The horse ride added a lot to the visit to Cotopaxi as I did not care to climb. The horse guy was terrific. It was my first time on a horse!
I can not say enough good things about Kuyana. The food was terrific and authentic. The grounds and rooms are beautiful. The activities are wonderful and individualized to the traveler.
It was relaxing too! It was the best!
The Galapagos lived up to their reputation. A special thank you to my guide, Julian, from Day 1, and the man who helped me complete the exit steps on the final day! Awesome job, guys!
Ecuador has a lot to see! GO!

Cathy B.
Charleston, WV
Feb 24 - Mar 15, 2022

Unforgettable rainforest experience

This was the most memorable and educational trip of my life. Mathias was very attentive to every question I had. He kept in touch with me. He even checked on my health condition and my husband’s injury while we were away. I cannot say enough good things about him.

Our first guide, Sebastian, was a very fun young man to be with. He was polite, attentive, and laughed with us. He was very knowledgeable about the country of Ecuador. He will go far in his career as a guide.

Our guide in the Cuyabena reserve, Fabian, was fun to be with as well. He and the indigenous people of the rainforest were very attentive in our care in a land where we were so isolated. We learned so much about the native people and how they live. When my husband Russell was bitten by a piranha while trying to take it off the hook, Clever, the indigenous young man knew exactly what to do treating his wound with medicine taken from tree bark. He was absolutely amazing in rowing the canoe even at night, and his knowledge of the rainforest.

I love the peace of the rainforest; no traffic sounds, not even an airplane flew over; just the sounds of the wildlife and downpours.

The highlight of the trip was seeing a tapir in the wild and even getting pictures! I am still amazed.

James S.
James S.
Boise, ID
Feb 8 - Feb 17, 2022

Wonderful trip to Ecuador February, 2022

My wife and I recently completed a 10 day trip to Ecuador and had a tremendous time. We knew very little about the country but wanted to see and learn as much as possible during our 10 day journey. We communicated with Mathias of Authentic Ecuador and found him to be very responsive and helpful. We traveled Feb. 8-17, 2022 just as the Omicron variant was complicating travel in many parts of the world. We were helped with all of the details and felt well supported. We arrived in Quito about 01:00 am (late) on our flight from Houston and after being efficiently being gotten through passport control and customs we were pleasantly greeted by our driver who got us to our hotel in old town Quito. Our superb guide, Cristian Portilla, met us promptly the next morning and we spent two days seeing all of Quito and the surrounding area. We particularly enjoyed a day trip to Mindo and the equator museum and exhibits. We then traveled through Banos, Riobamba, Cuenca and on to Guayaquil. Cristian was with us all of the time and provided superior services in taking us to all of the places of interest in each area. He helped us get a feel for the local culture and took us to local restaurants. We felt very fortunate to have a guide with his knowledge and dedication.
We booked at pretty much the last minute and could not have been more pleased. The accommodations were in boutique smaller hotels and they were all excellent and unique as well as comfortable. We always felt safe and well cared for during the travels and give Mathias and Cristian our unqualified recommendation. This was a special trip and we are more than delighted that we took it.

Christopher R.
Tinley Park, IL
Feb 2 - Feb 18, 2022

I (we) couldn't have been happier with the wh...

I (we) couldn’t have been happier with the whole experience. Linda was receptive, warm, excited for us, and wanting nothing but the best experience in Ecuador we could possibly have! I have been waiting a long time to see/visit Ecuador and what Linda set up for us was simply amazing!

After finally meeting her our first night it just confirmed to us we were going to be onto something special. My traveling companions are absolutely what we experienced along the way. The food, accommodations and the guide … @SebastianCarrera … Linda recommended was beyond anything I could have expected. An adventure of a lifetime! I Can’t wait to go back and see what I missed this first time!

So … if you’re curious of Ecuador, nervous of planning it yourself, hesitant to travel to this beautiful, beautiful country drop everything and contact Linda and know that she has you best intersts in mind.

Absolutely 10 stars!!!! Thank you Linda and I hope to see you in Deutschland soon!

Kelly F.
Kelly F.
San Diego, CA
Jan 7 - Jan 17, 2022

Last minute Amazing journey

Wow!! What an amazing journey! Mathias and the entire Authentic Ecuador team were just amazing. We already had a trip planned to Southeast Asia that got derailed because of the Omicron variant of Covid. We were able to book an amazing trip through Kim Kim and with Mathias To South and Central America. We began in Peru and then arrived in Ecuador. Ecuador was absolutely magical! We explored Quito, Banos, Archidona and The rainforest at Yasuni National Park. Our guide and driver, Cristian, was an amazing guy. He was kind, warm, laid back and very knowledgeable. From the city bike tour and cooking class, to the gorgeous villa in Archidona, we grew to love the people, culture, history and nature of Ecuador during our stay there. We will be back one day for sure! We would love to bring our children next time! Thank you to the entire team!

Margaret C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Dec 29 - Jan 14, 2022

Equador

I loved every moment except the Amazon. We are from Arizona and used to very dry weather. We were not told that the hotel was not allowed to have air conditioning. Even eating was outside. We were warned about Mosquitos but were not it at all. Hacienda Zuleta ,I think that is how you spell it, was the most beautiful place I have ever been in my life.
We rode horses to the Condor refugee camp and goes down in History as the most of a day I have ever had!!!
I would have scheduled another place to stay again, somewhere else in Quito. Maybe the other part of town. Just to be able to see another area.

Lucian C.
Lucian C.
Wakefield, NY
Dec 27 - Dec 31, 2021

Phenomenal trip to Ecuador

Linda did an amazing job planning our trip! We’re incredibly grateful for her organizing a last minute trip during such a busy tourist season. Linda ensured we had the best possible experience in Ecuador. Thank you, Linda!

Alex L.
Berkeley, CA
Dec 26 - Jan 9, 2022

Great customized itinerary with frequent communication

Planning my trip to Ecuador and the Galápagos Islands was a daunting task. Luckily I found kimkim and especially Mathias to guide me on a fantastic journey. Mathias worked closely with me to customize the perfect itinerary for all the things I wanted to do and see. Not only this, but Mathias gave me great advice ranging from packing lists to to restaurants to how to split up my time across locations. He also scheduled things like airport/hotel pickups, taxi boat fees and Covid testing which made my life so much simpler. It’s also great that kimkim has a chat tool that let us communicate throughout the whole process.

What put Mathias and this service beyond 5 stars is that after booking, the support didn’t stop. We had frequent communications each day of the trip, ensuring I had a good time on the excursion and was ready for the next day. And each event was top quality, often with private guides!

I was beyond impressed with Mathias and the kimkim service. I 100% recommend the use of the service for a complicated trip like Ecuador and the Galapagos.

Luana N.
Luana N.
Norwood, OH
Dec 19 - Dec 29, 2021

Mathias was extraordinary! He helped us throu...

Mathias was extraordinary! He helped us through the entire process from customizing the trip to our needs and physical abilities to covering as much as possible culture and nature. He had a network of amazing guides in all locations to that truly cared for us. He even came to meet us in person at our hotel and left us a little present w Ecuador goodies. From Quito bike tour & cooking class to Quitsao& Otavalo and then Galapagos we had an great time in Ecuador! Also, we appreciated the transparency of the process and how easy it was to communicate w Mathias. We are already thinking of our next Ecuador trip ( this was our first time in South America, usually we travel to Europe).

Mehdi Z.
Houston, TX
Nov 15 - Nov 21, 2021

Mathias put together a fantastic photography ...

Mathias put together a fantastic photography trip in the Quilotoa and Imbabura regions of Ecuador. All lodging, guides and drivers were excellent and on schedule. Mathias was always available for questions and assistance when needed and he even went to the length of accompanying me for a couple of days in the trip. He is very professional and has a gift to quickly and exactly understand his clients needs. I cannot thank him enough and would recommend him to anyone for future trip planing in Ecuador, a country he knows very well.

Sabine V.
Spain
Oct 15 - Nov 2, 2021

A perfect 19days tour of Ecuador.

A perfect 19days tour of Ecuador. Many thanks to Isabel for her patience and help in the organization of the trip.
Our excellent guide Cristobal Cabezas had a lot of experience and knew all the perfect places to spot birds. He made this trip unforgettable. He was sympathetic, polite and very patient while we were taking pictures, a pleasant companion and good driver, sharing a lot of information about the history, politics and people of Ecuador.

Ecuador is a save country and Covid proof. Nature is very diverse and untouched.

Gina C.
Gina C.
Orinda, CA
Aug 17 - Aug 26, 2021

Linda did an amazing job planning our trip! E...

Linda did an amazing job planning our trip! Everything went very smoothly and Linda was extremely responsive and helpful throughout. We couldn’t have asked for a better experience, all thanks to Linda. I highly recommend her!

Rob & Katie L.
Tigard, OR
Jul 2 - Jul 20, 2021

A Fantastic Three-Week Adventure in Ecuador

Simply put, my wife and I had a spectacular three-week trip to Ecuador. Mathias and his team provided a very well-organized adventure for us that was well-paced and filled with new sites, learning, and exploring. From Quito to the Galapagos, to Mindo, the Amazon rain forest, and the highlands of Cotapoxi our trip was superb. Every local guide was on time, thoughtful, and very knowledgeable. The wonderful sections of beautiful boutique hotels and the excursions were safe and exciting. Every day was a new adventure.

We experienced so much of the culture and the hospitality of the Ecuadorian people that we were thrilled to get up each morning for our new adventure. Thanks for a trip of a lifetime!

Jackie L.
Jackie L.
Bonita Springs, FL
Jun 10 - Jun 21, 2021

Visiting the beautiful, welcoming country of Ecuador

Would highly recommend traveling to the beautiful country of Ecuador. The country is welcoming and beautiful, and the people are even more so. We felt safe and well taken care of the entire trip. Our local specialist, Mathias, took care of all the planning/bookings. The local people, drivers, and guides could not be more genuine lovely people.

We visited the Amazon for 4 days, Quito for 2 days, and the Galapagos for 5 days. It felt like the perfect amount of time in each location, the only downside was the amount of travel time between locations. I would absolutely recommend visiting Ecuador, and all it has to offer.

Will be returning soon!

Arianna L.
Arianna L.
Asbury Park, NJ
May 15 - May 22, 2021

Mathias is extremely responsive and organized.

Mathias is extremely responsive and organized. I asked for an adventurous trip filled with culture and that’s exactly what Mathias put together for me.

Jeremy P.
Mexico
Jan 22 - Jan 31, 2021

Matias put together an awesome trip to an amazing country.

Matias was amazing. Quick responses, answered all the questions we had, most before we thought to ask them. The partners he worked with were on time, friendly, and knowledgeable. The hotels we were set up in were all great, from hot tubs heated by volcanos to having breakfast with a troop of monkeys, it was places that were unique, clean and friendly. I would send anyone I know to Ecuador and I will give them Matias’ contact information to make their trip as special as he made ours

Derral R.
Granger, IN
Jan 16 - Jan 19, 2023

Reeve Review

Our guide Ven was phenomenal and very attentive to all our needs. We also were very impressed with the vegetarian meals that the cook provided. We loved the tower, the wall and the river paddling trip. We were able to view over 130 different birds which exceeded my expectations. Thank you for your time.

Nicole S.
Canada
Jan 28 - Feb 10, 2023

2 week incredible Ecuador trip

We had the most amazing time in Ecuador. We spent 2 weeks there and were able to see so much more than if we had attempted to plan this ourselves. The tours, guides, hotels and transports were all perfectly coordinated and made the trip stress free for us! Linda really put the most spectacular trip together!!! 10/10 recommend for anyone!!

Lynn H.
Germantown, MD
Feb 5 - Feb 17, 2023

Best vacation I’ve ever had!

This was the first time I’ve ever used a Travel Agency and the first time I’ve ever been on a small-group guided tour. It was a fantastic experience. The itinerary that Mathias put together was well coordinated and thought out. The activities varied from the active to the intellectual. Milton was a fantastic guide who was knowledgeable about Ecuador in general and the Andes in particular. He was helpful, patient, and flexible changing plans to accommodate our needs. He went out of his way to make sure everyone had an enjoyable experience. I particularly enjoyed our hike to Catopaxi. I also greatly appreciated his role as translator when he accompanied our group on a hike in the Amazon jungle and an exploration of a cave. His presence made me feel safe and comfortable. Galapagos snorkeling was my favorite part of the entire trip. I had the chance to Galapagos penguins, rays, octopus, sharks.. even two hammerheads, turtles, a large blue spiny lobster, and too many fish to name. Our Galapagos guide, David, and the crew aboard the Galaxy were fantastic. They all were friendly, competent, knowledgeable, patient, and accommodating. I would love to do this again!

Liz S.
Liz S.
West Mifflin, PA
Feb 6 - Feb 11, 2023

Outstanding trip to Ecuador mainland - Kudos to KimKim Team, Mathais, and especially Danny!

Our trip to Ecuador was indeed amazing (meeting and exceeding our expectations). The excursions were excellent! The trip was fabulous!! From start to finish, the KimKim team (Mathais, Danny and excursion guides) were responsive, on time, professional and courteous. Prior to our trip, Mathais listened carefully to our requests and helped us prepare the perfect itinerary. From the minute we walked off the plane in Quito, we were met by our personal guide Danny who was outstanding! He escorted us every leg of the trip and made sure our travels went smoothly and were top notch throughout our mainland journey that included 2 days in Quito, a day in Banos, a day in Archidona, and hours in Papillacta thermal baths before we flew to Galapagos. In Ecuador mainland, we visited all the places on our itinerary, never felt rushed, and were able to indulge or move along at our own pace – Danny had a great knack for knowing when to be there for us or leave us to venture on our own. We opted for standard hotels that were lovely, clean, hosted by nice folks, and served good breakfasts before we ventured out on our excursions. Mathias made a point to meet and welcome us while we were in Quito, which we thought was classy. Danny spent hours driving us between cities and time flew – Danny was a great conversationalist and shared a wealth of knowledge and love for his country and people and nature and history, which made our drives and excursions all the more enjoyable. Great mix of private and small group tours. Highly recommend all the excursions on our itinerary: Quito City, Middle of the World, Swing, Banos waterfalls (esp Devils Cauldron) and tram, Amazon basin Napo river, rainforest lodge and hike, and Papillacta hot springs. Be aware there are some touristy areas (Banos, Middle of world) and lousy internet, but chalk it up to part of the experience. The people, the country, the food, the nature all beautiful. If you are planning to go to Galapagos following mainland trip recommend the Holiday Inn by airport to reset.

Teri H.
Orlando, FL
Feb 18 - Mar 1, 2023

Isabel planned the perfect trip for the 4 of ...

Isabel planned the perfect trip for the 4 of us (2 couples 50 -62)! We spent 3 nights in Quito at a remarkable hotel in Old Town, which included a city tour, visit to the Equator, a cooking class, and a free day (on our own). Lucia was our guide and went above and beyond to make us happy! We even stopped at her home to pick up bug repellent bracelets for our trip to the Amazon. Her English was very good and her pride for her Country was impressive. The cooking class with Josue and Jonathan exceeded our expectations! Our driver for the day, Manuel, became our driver/guide for the hiking days in the Andes, and transport to/from Quito Airport, which was a huge benefit as we developed a rapport and special relationship with him. Manuel was patient, professional, and accommodating. He is an experienced and accomplished hiker, guiding us on high elevation hikes in the Andes covering dormant and active volcanos, an 8.2 miles section of the Quilotoa, Pasochoa, and the trek to Jose Rivas Refugio at 16K”! The mountain lodges/hotels Isabel booked for us were each very different and uniquely special.
Our stay at the La Selva Lodge in the Amazon was more laid back and a nice change from the city in Quito and the high-country, moderate/strenuous hiking in the Andes. We saw numerous jungle animals and birds, fished for (and caught) piranha, climbed a very tall structure (205 stair steps) towering above the jungle to observe birds, and visited a native/indigenous tribe to learn about their culture and lifestyle.
Finally, we spent our last afternoon/evening (and the next morning) at the Terme de Papallacta Thermal Springs which also had spa treatments available and a gorgeous hike.
Overall, we were thrilled with Isabel’s attention to detail and adventurous itinerary and Manuel’s thorough, caring attention.

Steve S.
Steve S.
Pikesville, MD
Apr 4 - Apr 16, 2023

Mathias for Ecuador and Peru was the best!

Mathias was a joy to work with. Was flexible and helpful when we needed to make trip adjustments and was always there for us. Tour guides were great along the way. Always on time and knowledge. Made every minute of the trip memorable. Aldo Sanchez was an amazing guide from Cusco, Peru. Stayed with us for four days through the entire Sacred Valley leg of our trip. He made sure we had plenty of activities planned and had clean, safe water and food. Our Mtn Bike tour guide was also great. Knowledgeable and kept us from flying off the Andes on our endless descent down from 14k feet. All in all, they put together an amazing team to make sure every need was met without complaint.

Drew G.
San Francisco, CA
Mar 23 - Mar 30, 2023

Our guide Linda was AWESOME

Our guide Linda was AWESOME and so easy to work with. We threw a lot at her — lot of requests and preferences — but she did a great job creating a great itinerary for us. And if we had any feedback or wanted to make any changes, she was so easy to work. We got to do everything on our travel wish list and would absolutely work with Linda again on our next Ecuador trip.

Kelly L
Manhattan, NY
Jun 2 - Jun 10, 2023

An awesome experience all around

We had a great trip to Ecuador coordinated by Mathias. It was easy to plan, he was great with our questions, and the experience that was delivered was amazing! Our guide Alirio was top notch. He traveled and did all of the activities with us for the entire trip. We had other guide specialists join us for specific activities. Everyone we worked with was super friendly and very knowledge about the area and the activities. We had 100% trust in our guides! Hotels we not only clean and comfortable, they also offered an authentic experience.